Prof. Dr. Peter Hommelhoff


  • 2012: Habilitation at Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU) Munich
  • 2002: PhD at LMU Munich in the group of Prof. T. W. Hänsch at the magnetic microtrap experiment. Thesis: First achievement of Bose-Einstein condensation in a magnetic chip trap
  • 1999: Diploma studies at Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) Zurich. Thesis with Prof. R. Eichler: Measurement of the production cross section e p -> D_s with the silicon vertex detector at the H1 experiment at DESY
  • 1997: Prediploma (Vordiplom) at Technische Universität (TU) Berlin
  • 1994 – 1995: Military service, Navy, navigation
  • 1994: School leaving exam (Abitur)

Professional positions

  • 2019: Offer from TU Berlin to become Einstein Professor, declined
  • Since 2012: Full Professor of Physics, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg
  • Since 2018: Fellow of the Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light (MPL), Erlangen
  • 2012 – 2018: Associated member of the Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light (MPL), Erlangen
  • 2012: Offer, W3-professorship at Universität Oldenburg, declined
  • 2012: Offer, W3-professorship at Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, accepted
  • 2008 – 2012: Head of a Max Planck Research Group (“free floater”), Max Planck Institute for Quantum Optics, Garching/Munich
  • 2003 – 2007: Postdoc at Stanford University in the group of Prof. M. Kasevich

Honors and select funding

  • Fellow, Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light, Erlangen, 2018
  • Visiting professor, Physics Department, Stanford University, March – Sept. 2018
  • “Prize for good teaching” for course Experimental Physics 1 & 2, FAU Physics Department, 2017
  • Spokesperson (jointly with Prof. R. L. Byer, Stanford), Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, Accelerator on a Chip International Program (ACHIP), 2015 – 2020 (Total funding of $13,5 Million, partners: Stanford, FAU, Purdue, UCLA, TU Darmstadt, EPFL Lausanne, Uni Hamburg, SLAC, PSI, DESY, Tech-X)
  • Principal Investigator, SFB-953 “Synthetic Carbon Allotropes”, since 2016
  • Principal Investigator (jointly with Profs. Fennel, Kling), DFG SPP-1840 “Quantum Dynamics in Tailored Intense Fields”, since 2015
  • ERC Consolidator Grant, 2014 – 2019
  • Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, Quantum Electron Microscope Grant, jointly with MIT, Stanford and Delft), 2012 – 2017, and extension QEM-II, since 2017
  • DARPA AXiS project  (Advanced X-ray Integrated Source, with Stanford / SLAC, Prof. R. L. Byer), 2011 – 2013 (program closed)
  • Munich Center for Advanced Photonics, Member, 2008 – 2017
  • Marie Curie International Reintegration Grant of the European Union, 2008 – 2012
  • Head of a Max Planck Research group (formerly known as Independent reserach group leader of the Max Planck Society, free floater), Max Planck Institute for Quantum Optics, 2008 – 2013
  • Trimble Postdoctoral Fellow of the Stanford Center for Position, Navigation and Time, 2006 – 2007
  • Feodor Lynen Scholar of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, 2002 – 2005

Service and leadership

  • Member, Parliament of the German Physical Society (DPG)
  • Local organiser, 82. DPG Annual Meeting and spring meeting of the AMOP section 2018 in Erlangen
  • Spokesperson of the DFG Excellence Cluster Initiative „GLEAM – Grand Initiative on Light Electron Interactions in Matter“, 2016 – 2017
  • Co-spokesperson of the FAU-wide Key Research  Priority “Optics and optical technologies”, since 2017
  • Organiser (with Profs. Götzinger und Chalopin), “Les Houches–WE-Heraeus spring workshop on ultrafast phenomena at nanostructures: attosecond physics meets plasmonics”, Les Houches, May 2016 (first jointly funded workshop of WE-Heraeus-Stiftung and Physics Center Les Houches)
  • Special topics referee, German Ministry of Research, since 2015
  • Managing director, Institute of Condensed Matter Physics, 2013 – 2015
  • Member of the board, DFG Cluster of Excellence “Munich Center for Advanced Photonics (MAP)”, 2010 – 2013
  • Scientific Coordinator, International Max Planck Research School for Advanced Photon Science (IMPRS-APS), 2009 – 2011
  • Ombudsman of Max Planck Institute for Quantum Optics, 2008 – 2013

15 selected publications

  • M. Kozák, N. Schönenberger, P. Hommelhoff, Ponderomotive generation and detection of attosecond free-electron pulse trains, Phys. Rev. Lett. 120, 103203 (2018)
  • M. Kozák, T. Eckstein, N. Schönenberger, P. Hommelhoff, Inelastic ponderomotive scattering of electrons at a high-intensity optical travelling wave in vacuum, Nature Physics 14, 121 (2018)
  • J. McNeur, M. Kozák, N. Schönenberger, K. J. Leedle, H. Deng, A. Ceballos, H. Hoogland, A. Rühl, I Hartl, R. Holzwarth, O. Solgaard, J. S. Harris, R. L. Byer, P. Hommelhoff, Elements of a dieletric laser accelerator, Optica 5, 687 (2018)
  • T. Higuchi, C. Heide, K. Ullmann, H. B. Weber, P. Hommelhoff, Light-field-driven currents in graphene, Nature 550, 224 (2017)
  • D. Hoff, M. Krüger, L. Maisenbacher, A. M. Sayler, G. G. Paulus, P. Hommelhoff, Tracing the phase of focused broadband laser pulses, Nature Physics 13, 947 (2017)
  • M. Förster, T. Paschen, M. Krüger, C. Lemell, G. Wachter, F. Libisch, F. Madlener, J. Burgdörfer, P. Hommelhoff, Two-color coherent control of femtosecond above-threshold photoemission from a tungsten nanotip, Phys. Rev. Lett. 117, 217601 (2016)
  • D. Ehberger, J. Hammer, M. Krüger, J. Noe, A. Högele, P. Hommelhoff, Highly coherent electron beam from a laser-triggered tungsten needle tip, Phys. Rev. Lett. 114, 227601 (2015)
  • J. Hammer, S. Thomas, P. Weber, P. Hommelhoff, Microwave chip-based beamsplitter for low-energy guided electrons, Phys. Rev. Lett. 114, 254801 (2015)
  • T. Higuchi, M. I. Stockman, P. Hommelhoff, Strong-field perspective on high-harmonic generation from bulk solids, Phys. Rev. Lett. 113, 213901 (2014)
  • J. Breuer, P. Hommelhoff, Laser-based acceleration of nonrelativistic electrons at a dielectric structure, Phys. Rev. Lett. 111, 134803 (2013)
  • M. Krüger, M. Schenk, P. Hommelhoff, Attosecond control of electrons emitted from a nanoscale metal tip, Nature 475, 78 (2011)
  • J. Hoffrogge, R. Fröhlich, M. A. Kasevich, P. Hommelhoff, Microwave guiding of electrons on a chip, Phys. Rev. Lett. 106, 193001 (2011)
  • M. Schenk, M. Krüger, P. Hommelhoff, Strong-field above-threshold photoemission from sharp metal tips, Phys. Rev. Lett. 105, 257601 (2010)
  • P. Hommelhoff, Y. R. P. Sortais, A. Aghajani-Talesh, M. A. Kasevich, Field emission tip as a nanometer source of free electron femtosecond pulses, Phys. Rev. Lett. 96, 077401 (2006)
  • W. Hänsel, P. Hommelhoff, T. W. Hänsch, J. Reichel, Bose-Einstein condensation on a microelectronic chip, Nature 413, 498 (2001)